Welcome To The Universe

An Infinite Guide To Everything Outside Our World

Follow Me On FaceBook

Gas Giants

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are often called gas giants. They are basically gigantic gas balls compared to Earth and the other three rocky inner planets, or to the icy "dwarf planets" (Main-Belt asteroid Ceres and Pluto and its ice moon Charon, which are also classed as large Edgeworth-Kuiper (E-K) Belt objects). The four giant planets are comprised mostly of an outer layer of molecular hydrogen and helium and a much thicker layer of metallic hydrogen. However, each may have a small solid core as large as three to 20 Earth masses at their center. Sometimes they are called "Jovians" because Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are considered to be very similar to Jupiter ("Jove" is a variation of Jupiter in Latin).

Gas Giants Part 1

Gas Giants Part 2



Back to Top of Page